Wimbledon 2015: Murray named third seed as 11 Brits aim for qualifying progression in Roehampton

Andy Murray has been seeded third for next week’s Wimbledon Championships as he bids to reclaim the title he won in 2013.

Novak Djokovic is the number one seed and Roger Federer number two, meaning they will be in different sides of the draw.

A formula is used to decide the seeds which takes the current ATP Tour rankings, adds 100% of the points earned for all grass court tournaments in the past 12 months and 75% of the points earned for the best grass court tournament in the 12 months before that.

The formula does not change the order of the top 32 too much, with two-time winner Rafa Nadal seeded 10th.

The only change in the top 10 sees Milos Raonic move up to seventh from eighth and David Ferrer slip to eighth.

Serena Williams tops the women’s seeds, which follow the WTA tour rankings.

Andy’s brother Jamie Murray, who won the mixed doubles title in 2007 with Jelena Jankovic, is the only other Brit to be seeded. He and his men’s doubles partner, Australian John Seers, are seeded 13th.

At the qualifying event in Roehampton, there are 11 Brits in action today as they look to make it to next week’s Championships.

In the second round of the men’s singles, Dan Evans plays eighth seed Matthias Bachinger, Edward Corrie plays Inigo Cervantes and Joshua Milton plays 31st seed Michael Berrer

In the ladies, Katie Swan takes on two-time Wimbledon quarter-finalist Tamira Paszek, Tara Moore plays 22nd seed Aliaksandra Sasnovich and Katy Dunne plays 13th seed Richel Hogenkamp.

Sean Thornley and Darren Walsh are in the second round of qualifying for the men’s doubles against seventh seeds Jonathan Erlich and Philipp Petzschner.

Moore and Nicola Slater also take on second seeds Johanna Larsson and Petra Martic in the first round of the ladies qualifying doubles, where Harriet Dart and Dunne face fourth seeds Magda Linette and Mandy Minella.

Brits Richard Gabb, Daniel Cox, Alexander Ward, Richard Bloomfield, Emily Webley-Smith, Amanda Carreras, Naomi Cavaday, Gabrielle Taylor and Lucy Brown all lost in the first round of qualifying.

Feature image courtesy of Sky Sports, via Youtube, with thanks

Related Articles