General Election 2015: Conservative’s Stephen Hammond holds on to Wimbledon seat

Stephen Hammond has once again been re-elected as MP for Wimbledon.

Mr Hammond (Conservative) scooped 25,225 votes, Andrew Judge (Labour) received 12,606 voted, Shas Sheehan (Liberal Democrat) won 6129 votes, Peter Bucklitsch (UKIP) gained 2,476 votes and Charles Barraball (Green) received 1,986 votes.

The Conservatives hold with a majority of 12,619.

The election saw 48422 turnout, mounting to 73.75%.

Mr Hammond told SW Londoner: “I’m delighted and this comes on the back of an unbelievable amount of hard work.

“Over the last five years a lot of difficult decisions have had to be made but here we are five years on with more and more people in a job having a chance to live their own lives.

“I tried throughout this election to talk about policies not personalities, I’ve tried to talk about the politics of aspiration and opportunity and I genuinely believe we can create a land of opportunity for all.

“I hope to see more and more people in Wimbledon in a job.

“I hope that those people have better rising standards. I have set out in all my literature a vision for Wimbledon, Raynes Park, Morden and Wimbledon Village and those are the things I’m going to be pressing on with in the next five years.”


Related Articles