May’s deal rejected again by MPs by majority of 58

Theresa May lost a third vote on her Brexit withdrawal agreement this afternoon after MPs rejected it by a majority of 58.

Mrs May faced an increasing struggle as allies, the DUP, joined opposition leader Jeremy Corbyn in promising to vote against her deal.

Five Labour and 277 Conservative MPs voted for the agreement while 234 Labour and 34 Conservative MPs voted against it.

The European Commission said: “A no-deal scenario on the 12 April is now a likely option.”

They continued: “The benefits of the withdrawal agreement, including a transition period, will in no circumstances be replicated in a no deal scenario.”

Ahead of the vote, thousands of pro-Brexit supporters gathered in Parliament square on the day Britain was supposed to leave the EU.

European Council President Donald Tusk confirmed earlier that an emergency summit of European leaders will take place on April 10, two days before the amended leave date.

Mr Tusk also said that a further extension to the leave date would have to be justified before April 12.

This is also the date Britain will have to indicate whether it will stand candidates in the European Parliament elections.

Mr Corbyn continued to call for the PM’s resignation as well as another general election.

In a statement to MPs Theresa May said: “I fear we are reaching the limits of this process in this house.

“This House has rejected no deal. It has rejected no Brexit. On Wednesday it rejected all the variations of the deal on the table.”

She appeared determined, however, to avoid a no-deal Brexit and revoking Article 50, adding: “This government will continue to press the case for the orderly Brexit that the result of the referendum demands.”

Before the vote, Mrs May warned it was MPs’ last opportunity to guarantee Brexit and that voting for the motion would not close any future negotiations, to which Mr Corbyn accused her of trying to push a damaging deal that had been rejected twice.

Related Articles