FIFA World Cup draw: Group C reaction

In Group C, France have been handed a comfortable group alongside Denmark, Australia and Peru.

Les Bleus are touted as one of the favourites with an attacking arsenal that boasts the likes of Kylian Mbappé, Ousmane Dembélé and Antoine Griezmann.

They kick off the tournament on June 16 against Australia in Kazan, who are currently without a manager.

Christian Eriksen’s Denmark, who knocked out the Republic of Ireland in the Playoffs, previously knocked out the then tournament holders France in 2002 with a 2-0 win in the final group game.

The final side in the group is Peru, who qualified by beating New Zealand 2-0 in the Playoffs.

What they said

France manager Didier Deschamps told L’Equipe: “It could have been worse, of course.

“We are used to meeting Denmark. Australia, we faced it in friendly. The last time we played against Peru [ in 1982], I had to be in front of my TV.

“The last time [there was a draw], you were all unanimous to say that it was a wonderful draw, even some players … it’s not going to be done by snapping your fingers.

“We will work on us, on our opponents, and go to this World Cup with a lot of ambition. ”

Group C


Fixtures (all times UK)

June 16 – France v Australia – Kazan Arena, Kazan, 11:00

June 16 – Peru v Denmark – Mordovia Arena, Saransk, 17:00

June 21 – France v Peru – Central Stadium, Yekaterinburg, 13:00

June 21 – Denmark v Australia – Cosmos Arena, Samara, 16:00

June 26 – Denmark v France – Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow, 15:00

June 26 – Australia v Peru – Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi, 15:00


  1. France
  2. Denmark
  3. Peru
  4. Australia

Group C factfile

  • Peru’s first World Cup game since 1982 will be in Saransk against Denmark.
  • The South American side were in the first ever World Cup in Uruguay in 1930.
  • Denmark knocked holders France out of the 2002 World Cup with a 2-0 win in the final group game.
  • Australia’s fifth World Cup and fourth in a row – first appeared as amateurs in 1974 and secured goalless draw against Chile.
  • France won the World Cup as hosts in 1998 and one of four European teams to participate in the original World Cup.

Related Articles