General Election 2019: What you missed overnight

By Michael Phillips
December 13 2019, 13.30

Who was elected in each constituency and some facts about what went on at the polling stations.

  • Labour gained only one seat in the whole of the UK, in Putney after losing 59 seats. It’s Labour’s first win in Putney since 2001. It’s a seat held formerly held by former Conservative Education Secretary Justine Greening. 
  • In Kensington, the Conservative Felicity Buchan won with a narrow majority of 150. A row broke out between the former Conservative now Liberal Democrat MP Sam Gyimah and Labour’s Emma Dent Coad who whilst exiting the town hall said: “Congratulations to Sam Gyimah for screwing up Kensington.”
  • Zac Goldsmith who was appointed by Boris Johnson to a ministerial role, lost his seat in Richmond to Lib Dem MP Sarah Olney. He has praised the Prime Minister for his 86-seat majority. 
  • Lib Dem Tom Brake lost his seat in Carshalton and Wallington after 22 years to Conservative candidate Elliot Colburn. 
  • First-time Labour MP for Streatham Bell Ribeiro-Addy vowed ‘not to give into bigotry’ after securing a 54.8% vote share with 30,796 votes.
  • Lib Dem candidate Helen Thompson lost in Streatham but bounced the Tories into second place with a 23.5% vote share to Conservative Rory O’Broin’s 16%. 
  • Chris Philp held Croydon South for the Conservatives after defeating his Labour rival Olga Fitzroy with a majority of 12,339 votes.  
  • Conservative MP Paul Scully retained his seat for Sutton and Cheam. 
  • Lib Dem Munira Wilson said she was “delighted, overwhelmed and over the moon” after winning the seat for Twickenham. 
  • MP for Mitcham and Morden Siobhain McDonagh expressed regret that Labour had “let many of our supporters down” nationally despite being re-elected last night. 
  • Uxbridge and Ruislip MP Boris Johnson retained his seat with 25,351 votes and an increase on his last election turnout.        
  • Milk supplies at the Chelsea and Fulham count ran out by 11.15pm.
  • Chelsea and Fulham Tory MP Greg Hands retained his seat after his 2017 victory.      
  • Labour MP Marsha de Cordova won Battersea with 27,290 votes defeating Kim Caddy who had 21,622. The Labour MP is currently the Shadow Minister for Disabled People and is legally blind, suffering from nystagmus, a condition that makes the eyes move involuntarily.
  • Boris Johnson did not put a cross next to his own name on polling day after registering to vote in Westminster, rather than Uxbridge and South Ruislip.
  • Labour MP for Dulwich and West Norwood, Helen Hayes, received almost four times the votes for the second-placed Green Party.
  • Green Party co-leader Jonathan Bartley came second in the Dulwich and West Norwood vote with Labour retaining the seat. He hit out at Labour for not joining the Unite to Remain alliance. 
  • Conservative MP Stephen Hammond narrowly beat the Liberal Democrats in his Wimbledon seat. 
  • Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab retained his seat for Esher and Walton despite a risk that he could lose to the Liberal Democrats. 
  • Labour MP Seema Malhotra labelled her party’s evening as disastrous despite her personal success in Feltham and Heston. 
  • Ruth Cadbury won for the Conservatives in Brentford and Isleworth with 29,266 votes – an impressive 10,514 more than the first-time Labour candidate comfortably . 
  • Labour MP Steve Reed held Croydon North comfortably with 36,495 votes, a 65.6% share of the vote.

Related Articles