RESULT: Stephen Hammond holds on to Wimbledon seat for Conservatives

Stephen Hammond held his serve in Wimbledon as the Conservatives retained the seat for the third General Election running.

Former transport minister Mr Hammond won 23,946 votes, 46% of the vote, which gave prime minister Theresa May some respite on a night of bad news.

Mr Hammond said: “I always believe it’s one of the greatest honours that can be placed in a Great British person to have the trust of ones fellow citizens put in them, and to be elected as the member of parliament for that constituency.

“It’s been an honour to be the MP for Wimbledon for the last 12 years and it will be a privilege to serve again as the MP for the next five years.

“I am of course delighted with the result tonight and I know that results come from not one person but a team.”

Labour’s Imran Uddin secured 18,324 votes despite an investigation into his law practice for ‘suspected dishonesty’, a big Labour increase on 2015.

Mr Uddin, councillor for St Helier ward, was selected to fight the Tory-held seat in early May but Wimbledon Labour Party said it was “disappointed” to learn of the investigation.

When asked if he thought the investigation affected voting, Mr Uddin said: “No I don’t think so, I don’t think so at all, I think that’s a personal matter, people have voted on policies.

“People are intelligent enough to understand, they vote for the policies that they want, so that’s my answer to that.

“There was a resonance with the Labour party policies and manifesto and I think that shows you, if there’s a lesson for everyone it’s the fact that we do have significant problems in our society.

“There are a number of people in our society who are not represented and are feeling the pain of austerity.”

The Lib Democrats won 7,472 votes, with the Greens winning 1,231 and UKIP winning 553. Turnout in Wimbledon was 77.3%, up from 73.5% in 2015.


Stephen Hammond (Conservative) 23,946, Imran Uddin (Labour) 18,324, Carl Quilliam (Liberal Democrat) 7,472, Charles Barraball (Green) 1,231, Strachan McDonald (UKIP) 553.

Conservative hold

Turnout: 51,526 

Related Articles