Chinese New Year 2016: London prepares to ring in the Year of the Monkey

Chinese New Year celebrations will start to light up London to mark the Year of The Monkey next week.

Chinese New Year falls on February 8 this year but the main parade will take place on Valentines Day, February 14, in Chinatown in the West End at 10am where a vibrant display of acrobatics, decorations, dancing and dragons will take place.

Each Chinese New Year is marked by the symbol of one of 12 animals in the Chinese zodiac, and those born in the Year of The Monkey are characterised as being quick-witted and mischievous.

But it is also believed to be one of the unluckiest, despite people born in this zodiac are thought to have an everlasting love life thanks to their honesty and gentleness.

Those wanting to join in the festivities with a meal at a Chinese restaurant should book early as tables are already being filling up fast.

The Bayee Village, in the heart of Wimbledon, is already fully booked and manager Peter Lee is excited about the merriments ahead.

He said: “We only do a set menu because of how busy we are, and this year we have a dancing lion in our restaurant and an Elvis Presley tribute act.”

So which Chinese Zodiac sign are you? See below;

  • Rat: 2008, 1996, 1984, 1972, 1960
  • Ox: 2009, 1997, 1985, 1973, 1961
  • Tiger: 2010, 1998, 1986, 1974, 1962
  • Rabbit: 2011, 1999, 1987, 1975, 1963
  • Dragon: 2012, 2000, 1988, 1976, 1964
  • Snake: 2013, 2001, 1989, 1977, 1965
  • Horse: 2014, 2002, 1990, 1978, 1966
  • Sheep: 2015, 2003, 1991, 1979, 1967
  • Monkey: 2016, 2004, 1992, 1980, 1968
  • Rooster: 2017, 2005, 1993, 1981, 1969
  • Dog: 2018, 2006, 1994, 1982, 1970
  • Pig: 2019, 2007, 1995, 1983, 1971

So what does this mean?

The Rat: Charming, sociable and quick witted.

The Ox:  Hard-working, meticulous and persistent.

The Tiger: Romantic, independent and adventurous.

The Rabbit: Lucky, cultured and level-headed.

The Dragon: Dynamic, fiery and benevolent.

The Snake: Knowledgeable, secretive and cynical.

The Horse: Self-reliant, self-centred and industrious.

The Sheep: Sincere yet pessimistic, withdrawn and lazy.

The Monkey: Intelligent, innovative and enthusiastic.

The Rooster: Mischievous, proud and focused.

The Dog: Dedicated, compromising and loyal.

The Pig: Nurturing, honest and patient.

Picture courtesy of Luke Price, with thanks

Related Articles